Welcome to the Computing Department. We as a department, ensure that all our learners are fully prepared for the future and understand how to use new technologies safely. Computing is a continually changing and expanding subject throughout the world today. Learners will develop transferrable skills that will equip them for the work-place, college and university.

Our main priority is that all learners enjoy Computing and remain safe whilst doing so. E-Safety and Cyber-bullying is a topic which is of paramount importance and this is reflected in our Schemes of Work that are delivered at Key Stage 3, 4 and 5. Computing is a compulsory subject and will be delivered at Key Stage 3 and 4.

Meet the Staff

  • Mr M. Bargery (Subject Leader)
  • Ms F. Delaney (Head of Year 7)
  • Mrs B. Elms
  • Ms L. Dutton

Our Aims

The national curriculum for Computing aims to ensure that all pupils:

  • can understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science, including abstraction, logic, algorithms and data representation
  • can analyse problems in computational terms, and have repeated practical experience of writing computer programs in order to solve such problems
  • can evaluate and apply information technology, including new or unfamiliar technologies, analytically to solve problems
  • are responsible, competent, confident and creative users of information and communication technology.

Successful Learners

  • All learners to achieve their full potential and realise their aspirations
  • All learners will be able to communicate and work collaboratively with others in the school, in the local community, and across the globe
  • Explore and develop ideas, learning how to assess work critically

Confident Individuals

  • To enable learners to become increasingly independent, developing their self-esteem and confidence
  • To encourage responsible and safe use of digital communications
  • To explore different ways to present and communicate their ideas effectively to a range of audiences

Responsible Citizens

  • To explore issues surrounding responsible and safe use of ICT
  • To encourage learners to understand, respect, value and engage with not only their own cultures and traditions but also those of others and to develop a sense of their own place in the world

Schemes of Learning

Key Stage 3

All learners at Key Stage 3 will study the Computing curriculum and develop various skills, knowledge and understanding.  A high-quality Computing education equips pupils to use computational thinking and creativity to understand and change the world. Computing has deep links with mathematics, science, and design and technology, and provides insights into both natural and artificial systems. The core of computing is computer science, in which pupils are taught the principles of information and computation, how digital systems work, and how to put this knowledge to use through programming. Building on this knowledge and understanding, pupils are equipped to use information technology to create programs, systems and a range of content. Computing also ensures that pupils become digitally literate – able to use, and express themselves and develop their ideas through, information and communication technology – at a level suitable for the future workplace and as active participants in a digital world.

To view our National Curriculum map for Computing click here

To view our medium term plan for Year 7 e-safety click here

To view our medium term plan for Year 8 click here

To view our first term scheme of work for Year 8 click here

To view our scheme of work for Year 9 click here


Key Stage 4

All learners are given the opportunity to learn and develop exciting new skills that involve using cutting-edge hardware and software. We offer two courses for students at Key Stage 4:

  • Cambridge Nationals Certificate in ICT (OCR)
  • ECDL Level 2

Computing and ICT - Cambridge Nationals Certificate in ICT (OCR) 

The OCR Cambridge Nationals Certificate in ICT is a 2 year course that consists of 2 core units and 2 optional units. 75% of assessment is carried out by the class teacher and checked by the exam board. 25% will be externally assessed by the exam board. Final grades issued by the exam board have GCSE equivalence within the GCSE grading range A*-G.
Unit 1: Understanding Computer Systems (Mandatory Unit – Exam written paper)

  • This unit will provide learners with the underpinning knowledge and understanding required to use computer systems effectively e.g. desktop and portable devices such as laptops, netbooks, tablets and smartphones. Learners will also have the opportunity to study, use and get an understanding of communication systems e.g. SMS, instant messaging, e-mail, chat-rooms, forums, bulletin boards, Voice-over-IP (VoIP), video conferencing, webcams, blogs, social networking.

Unit 2: Using ICT to Create Business Solutions Mandatory Unit (Internally assessed task)

  • This unit will enable learners to develop ICT skills that would equip them to operate effectively in a business environment. Learners will use both internet and non-internet sources e.g. learn search engine techniques to find specific information on the internet and use this information to create a range of business documents that meet a defined purpose.

Two optional units:
Unit 5: Creating an Interactive Product using Multimedia Components (Internally assessed task)

  • This unit will enable learners to demonstrate their creative flair by combining multimedia components to create a vibrant, energetic or stimulating webpage or interactive product.

Unit 3: Handling data using Spreadsheets (Internally assessed task)

  • This unit will help the learner to process and present data into meaningful information that can be used to support the decision-making process in real life scenarios.


Thinking ahead to your future

Key Stage 5

Achieving a Level 2 qualification in Computing / Computer Science or ICT gives learners the opportunity to enter employment in the IT sector or to progress to Level 3 qualifications (Sixth Form or College).Students who’ve taken a GCSE or Cambridge Nationals in ICT and who then progress to study the subject at A-Level or university will have a distinct advantage over their colleagues who are picking up the subject later on.

The I.T. course in Years 12 and 13 consists of six units of work and there are no exams. Three units are delivered in Year 12 and three in Year 13. On successful completion of Year 12, students are awarded a BTEC Level 3 Certificate in I.T. which is equivalent to an AS-Level. On successful completion of Year 13, and three further units, students are awarded the BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in I.T. which is equivalent to an A-Level.

This course provides excellent preparation for higher study and employment in the field of Information Technology. The increasing importance of Information Technologies means there will be a growing demand for professionals who are qualified in this area.

Units of work delivered in Year 12

  • Unit 1: Communication and Employability Skills for IT
  • Unit 2: Computer Systems
  • Unit 22: Developing Computer Games (new unit for Y12 students)

Units of work delivered in Year 13

  • Unit 8: E-Commerce
  • Unit 22: Developing Computer Games (new unit for current Y13 students)
  • Unit 30: Digital Graphics

Extra-Curricular Activities

  • After school Computing clubs available to all students most evenings  Monday – Thursday 3.15pm – 5.00pm
  • Early bird Computing clubs available on request
  • Learners can access all course materials via the Learning Platform and the school network
  • Holiday Computing Clubs
  • Microsoft Office 365 available

Follow us on Twitter @GateacreIT


E-Safety and Cyberbullying